Navigation:  Admin Panel > Topics > Managing Topics > Creating and Activating a New Topic >

Creating a New Topic

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Creating Topics follow similar steps as creating Categories.  Topics can be added to the Self Service Portal through the Admin panel of the Self Service Portal in the section Topics.  The following procedure details the addition of a new Topic.

Creating a new Topic

1.Select the Topics section of the Admin panel to open the admin page for Topics.
2.Click on the ADD NEW TOPIC button.  This will open to the General Settings Tab of a new Topic.
3.Expand the section for Title & short description section.  Enter a Title and Description for the new Topic.  If multiple languages are installed, enter the translated Title and Description for each language.
4.Expand the General Settings section.  Select a new icon for the category.  Before selecting an icon, you must click Update to save the new Topic.
5. Upload the selected Icon.  To upload a new icon use the browse button and navigate to the location of the new icon. alert_1818 Please ensure the new Icon has these measures: width: 58 - Height: 49. When the file is selected from the popup window, the full path will appear in the text box.
6.Click on the clip0201button to upload and activate the Icon.
alert_1818: Simply Browsing for the file will not succeed, it is required to click the UPLOAD button to transfer the file to the server and to be used on the Dashboard. Due to caching, it is possible that the new icon is not shown immediately.
7.In the Content Type option select the required type for the Topic.
 A Standard type will generate a Container for Information and Forms.
 An External Link will allow you to specify a url link that will open when the Topic is selected.
8.In the Category option select a Category from the list of available categories.  The Topic will now be accessible through the selected category.
9.Use the SAVE button to save the changes and remain on this screen, or use the OK button to save your changes and return to the Overview screen, or use the CANCEL button to discard any changes.